Big Ten Announces Field Hockey Players To Watch List For 2012 Season

Aug. 22, 2012

Big Ten Field Hockey Players to Watch List Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten announced its 2012 field hockey Players to Watch List on Wednesday, highlighted by two-time Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year Chelsea Armstrong of Northwestern. Each coach selected three players from their own team to the Players to Watch List.

Thirteen All-Big Ten selections from last season are on the watch list, including seven first-team honorees—Iowa’s Jessica Barnett, Michigan’s Rachel Mack, Northwestern’s Armstrong and Nikki Parsley and Penn State’s Kelsey Amy, Laura Gebhart and Ayla Halus.

The 2012 season officially starts on Friday, with three conference teams opening play. Penn State earned the highest ranking for a Big Ten team in the 2012 Penn Monto/NFHCA Division I Preseason Poll at No. 9. Michigan checked in at No. 10, followed by No. 12 Iowa, No. 15 Ohio State and No. 20 Northwestern.

The complete list of field hockey players to watch for the 2012 season can be found above.