Big Ten Announces 2013 Field Hockey Players To Watch List

Penn State's Brittany Grzywacz returns as the reigning Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

Aug 22, 2013

2013 Preseason Players to Watch List Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten announced its 2013 Field Hockey Players to Watch List on Thursday, highlighted by 12 All-Big Ten selections from last season and the 2012 Defensive Player of the Year in Penn State’s Brittany Grzywacz.  

The returning All-Big Ten selections from last season include six first-team honorees—Michigan’s Rachel Mack, Michigan State’s Abby Barker, Northwestern’s Nikki Parsley and Tara Puffenburger and Penn State’s Laura Gebhart and Grzywacz. Players to watch who were earned second-team All-Big Ten recognition last year include Indiana’s Hannah Boyer and Audra Heilman, Iowa’s Marike Stribos, Michigan’s Lauren Thomas, Michigan State’s Becky Stiles and Ohio State’s Arielle Cowie.

Eight standouts were named to the Preseason Players to Watch List for the second consecutive season, including Boyer, Michigan State’s Molly Cassidy, Gebhart, Heilman, Iowa’s Karli Johansen, Mack, Parsley and Puffenburger.

The 2013 season officially starts next weekend with all seven conference teams opening play.  Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Northwestern and Penn State begin on Friday, August 30, while Michigan and Ohio State start their respective seasons on Saturday, August 31.

The complete list of field hockey players to watch for the 2013 season is attached above