Big Ten Field Hockey Opens 2012 Season This Weekend

Aug. 23, 2012

All seven Big Ten field hockey teams square off in the first official action of the 2012 season this weekend, with three teams opening play on Friday. Penn State will begin the season on its home field, while the remaining six conference teams open on the road or at neutral sites. Four Big Ten teams face ranked opponents to start the campaign, with two squads taking on top-five competition to begin play.

Friday's slate begins with Indiana visiting Kent State at Noon ET and Michigan State traveling to Orono, Maine, to face No. 17 Boston College at 1 p.m. Ninth-ranked Penn State hosts third-ranked Old Dominion at 5 p.m. 

Saturday's schedule features No. 10 Michigan taking on No. 2 North Carolina in Winston-Salem, N.C., at 11:30 a.m. to begin the ACC/Big Ten Challenge and No. 20 Northwestern facing Miami (Ohio) at Noon. At 2 p.m., No. 12 Iowa visits No. 13 Wake Forest in the second ACC/Big Ten Challenge match of the day and No. 15 Ohio State travels to Durham, N.H., to face Massachusetts.

Follow the links below for more information on each Big Ten field hockey team.

Michigan State
Ohio State
Penn State