Big Ten Field Hockey Opens 2013 Season This Weekend

Aug 29, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

All seven Big Ten field hockey teams will take the field in the first official action of the 2013 season this weekend, with five teams opening play on Friday. Each conference team will open on the road or at neutral sites. Four Big Ten teams will face ranked opponents to start the year, with two squads taking on top-10 foes.

Friday’s slate begins with No. 11 Northwestern visiting Providence at Noon ET, Indiana heading to No. 10 Duke at 3 p.m. and No. 6 Penn State traveling to No. 8 Old Dominion beginning at 5 p.m. No. 13 Iowa will take on Bucknell at 7 p.m. in Easton, Pa., while Michigan State will face California at 10 p.m. in Palo Alto, Calif.   

Saturday’s schedule features No. 9 Michigan taking on No. 14 Massachusetts in Orono, Maine, at 1 p.m., followed by Ohio State visiting Temple at 2:30 p.m. and Indiana facing No. 17 Drexel at 3 p.m.