Ohio State and Michigan Clinch Shares of Big Ten Field Hockey Championship

Oct. 30, 2010

Park Ridge, Ill. - With Ohio State's 3-0 victory over the Iowa Hawkeyes Saturday afternoon, the No. 5 Buckeyes clinched a share of the Big Ten Title, making it the third in program history. Ohio State went 5-1 in Big Ten play and 15-3 overall to earn the No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament next weekend in Evanston, Ill. The Big Ten Network will televise Saturday's match in tape delay at 6 p.m. ET this evening.

Ohio State's sophomore Danica Deckard scored her eighth goal of the season, to put the Buckeyes ahead, 1-0 in the first half. Jena Cacciatore and Berta Queralt added to Ohio State's lead when each scored, giving the Buckeyes the share of the championship.

The Michigan Wolverines clinched a share of their seventh Big Ten Title after defeating Indiana, 5-2 in Bloomington, Ind. The No. 12 Wolverines finished with a 5-1 conference slate and a 12-6 overall record, earning the No. 2 seed in the upcoming Big Ten Tournament hosted by Northwestern University.

Michigan used a hat trick from senior Zara Saydjari and four points from classmate Alicia Mayer to earn a share of the field hockey championship.

Michigan Clinches Share of Conference Championship

Ohio State Clinches Share of Conference Championship