Northwestern Earns Share of Big Ten Field Hockey Championship

Tara Puffenberger notched two goals in the win.

Nov. 1, 2013

Rosemont, Ill. -

With Northwestern's 5-0 win over Ohio State and Michigan's 2-1 overtime victory over Penn State on Friday afternoon, the 12th-ranked Wildcats clinched a share of the Big Ten Championship. Northwestern earns its sixth Big Ten Championship and first since 1994.

Northwestern got on the board in the 15th minute, as Tara Puffenberger found the back of the net for her first of two goals in the game. Lena Phillips added another score in the 23rd minute giving the Wildcats a 2-0 halftime lead. Nikki Parsley notched a goal in the 42nd minute, Puffenberger scored her second four minutes later and Kristin Wirtz added the last tally in the 54th minute.    

Northwestern and Penn State end the regular season with matching 5-1 conference marks to finish the year as Big Ten co-Champions. Due to their head-to-head victory over the Wildcats, the Nittany Lions will be the No. 1 seed and the Wildcats will be the No. 2 seed in the Big Ten Tournament which will be held Nov. 7-10 at Ohio State.