Big Ten Announces Field Hockey Postseason Honors

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2017 field hockey All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners on Wednesday, with Michigan, Maryland and Penn State collecting individual honors. The Wolverines’ Katie Trombetta was tabbed Player of the Year and Sam Swenson earned Defensive Player of the Year. Penn State’s Moira Putsch claimed Offensive Player of the Year honors. Maryland’s Bodil Keus collected Freshman of the Year accolades and Michigan’s Marcia Pankratz earned Coach of the Year recognition. 

Trombetta earned Big Ten Player of the Year accolades after leading the Wolverines to their ninth Big Ten Championship. Trombetta has helped Michigan to a top-three ranking with four goals, a team-leading 11 assists and 19 points this season. Trombetta’s award marks the fifth Wolverine named Big Ten Player of the Year and the first since Rachael Mack in 2013.

Putsch earned Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year after leading the conference in goals (18), goals per game (1.00), and points (50). Putsch is the seventh Nittany Lion to earn Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year honors and the first since Kelsey Amy in 2012.

Swenson became the sixth Michigan student to earn Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year plaudits after Lauren Thomas earned the distinction in 2015. Swenson led a Wolverine defense that has allowed just 15 goals, and earned 12 shutouts on the season.

Keus earned Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors after scoring nine goals. She has scored 19 points, which ranks second on Maryland’s roster. Keus is the first Terrapin to earn the Big Ten’s top freshman honor since Putsch in 2014.

Pankratz claims her sixth career Big Ten Coach of the Year honor after leading Michigan to a 17-2 record and an 8-0 mark in conference play. The Wolverines led the league in goals (66) and goals per game (3.47) en route to a No. 5 RPI ranking. Pankratz helped Michigan to claim the outright Big Ten regular season title and the No. 1 seed in the tournament.

Trombetta and Swenson earned unanimous spots on the All-Big Ten First Team and were joined by Northwestern’s Sophia Miller. The rest of the first team consisted of Maryland’s Lein Holsboer and Linnea Gonzales, Penn State’s Putsch and Skyler Fretz, Iowa’s Katie Birch, Michigan’s Meg Dowthwaite, Northwestern’s Puck Pentenga and Michigan State’s Simone Vagnoni.

The Big Ten also recognized nine Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The complete list of All-Big Ten honorees and Sportsmanship Award recipients can be found below.

2017 Field Hockey All-Big Ten Teams
First Team
Lein Holsboer, M, Sr., MD
Moira Putsch, F, Jr., PSU
Skyler Fretz, D, Sr., PSU
Katie Birch, D, So., IOWA
Linnea Gonzales, F, Jr., MD
Meg Dowthwaite, F, So., MICH
Simone Vagnoni, D, Sr., MSU
Puck Pentenga, M, Jr., NU

Second Team
Maddy Humphrey, F, Sr., OSU
Daphne Groothuis, M, Fr., RU
Esther de Leijer, M, Sr., MICH
Katie Dembroski, M, Jr., PSU
Maddie Latino, F, Sr., IND
Carrie Hanks, D, Sr., MD
Maddy Murphy, F, Fr., IOWA
Linde Van Schaik, M, Jr., RU
Pascale Massey, F, Jr., NU
Kendal Anderson, M, Sr., MSU
Jenny Rizzo, GK, Jr., PSU

Player of the Year: Katie Trombetta, MICH
Offensive Player of the Year: Moira Putsch, PSU
Defensive Player of the Year: Sam Swenson, MICH
Freshman of the Year: Bodil Keus, MD
Coach of the Year: MARCIA PANKRATZ, MICH

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Elle Hempt, IND
Mallory Lefkowitz, IOWA
Marissa Cutry, MD
Casie Ammerman, MICH
Katie Miller, MSU
Katie Esselman, NU
Kelsey Nolan, OSU
Shay Cannon, PSU
Simrin Dhillon, RU

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS