Big Ten Conference Announces Field Hockey Postseason Honors

Jenn Sciulli took home Defensive Player of the Year.

Nov. 3, 2011

PARK RIDGE, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2011 field hockey All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners on Thursday, with Michigan, Northwestern, Ohio State and Penn State collecting individual honors. The Wildcats’ Chelsea Armstrong was named Offensive Player of the Year, while the Buckeyes’ Jenn Sciulli took home Defensive Player of the Year honors. The Nittany Lions’ Laura Gebhart was named Freshman of the Year, while the Wolverines’ Marcia Pankratz earned Coach of the Year honors.

Armstrong earned Offensive Player of the Year accolades for the second consecutive season after leading the conference in points (12) and tying for first in goals (5) in Big Ten play. In 20 games this season, Armstrong has tallied 53 points on 23 goals and seven assists.

Sciulli reeled in Defensive Player of the Year honors after recording nine defensive saves this season, which is ranked second in the nation. The senior back led a Buckeye defense that allowed just nine goals in conference play. Sciulli becomes the second consecutive Buckeye to win the award, following Aisling Coyle.

Gebhart earned top billing among freshmen after finishing the 2011 season with 21 points on five goals and 11 assists, the second most for the Nittany Lions. The Penn State midfielder becomes the seventh Nittany Lion player to win the award and the first since 2008.

Pankratz led Michigan to a Big Ten Championship, compiling a 13-5 overall record and a 5-1 mark in conference play en route to her second consecutive Big Ten Coach of the Year honor. She helped the Wolverines to a final regular-season ranking of No. 7, and guided Michigan to a No. 1 seed in the Big Ten Tournament.

Armstrong, Sciulli and Gebhart earned spots on the All-Big Ten first team and were joined by Indiana’s Brenna Moeljadi, Iowa’s Jessica Barnett and Sarah Drake, Michigan’s Bryn Bain, Aline Fobe and Rachael Mack, Northwestern’s Nikki Parsley and Penn State’s Kelsey Amy and Ayla Halus.



The Big Ten also recognized seven Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

2011 Field Hockey All-Big Ten Teams

First Team*

Brenna Moeljadi, Sr., D, IND

Jessica Barnett, Jr., M, IOWA

Sarah Drake, Jr., F, IOWA

Bryn Bain, Sr., M, MICH

Aline Fobe, Fr., D, MICH

Rachael Mack, So., F, MICH


Nikki Parsley, So., M, NU

Jenn Sciulli, Sr., D, OSU


Laura Gebhart, Fr., M, PSU

Ayla Halus, Jr., GK, PSU

Second Team

Morgan Fleetwood, Jr., F, IND

Kathleen McGraw, Jr., GK, IOWA

Abby Barker, Fr., F, MSU

Adelle Lever, Jr., M, MSU

Regan Mooney, Sr., F, NU

Danica Deckard, Jr., F, OSU

Paula Pastor-Pitarque, So., M, OSU

Berta Queralt, Jr., F, OSU

Brittany Gryzwacz, So., D, PSU

Lauren Purvis, So., F, PSU

Offensive Player of the Year: Chelsea Armstrong, NU

Defensive Player of the Year: Jenn Sciulli, OSU

Freshman of the Year: Laura Gebhart, PSU

Coach of the Year: Marcia Pankratz, MICH


Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Jaclyn Zamudio, IND

Becca Spengler, IOWA

Eileen Brandes, MICH

Angie Lucik, MSU

Megan Jamieson, NU

Ally Tunitis, OSU

Lauren Alloway, PSU


Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

*Additional honorees due to ties