Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament Bracket Announced

Nov. 3, 2013

Rosemont, Ill. -

Tournament Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten Conference announced the bracket on Sunday for the 2013 Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament, which will be held at Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, from Nov. 7-10. The tournament winner will earn the Big Ten’s automatic berth to the NCAA Championships.

Northwestern and Penn State finished the regular season as Big Ten co-Champions with matching 5-1 conference marks. Due to their head-to-head victory over the Wildcats, the Nittany Lions claimed the No. 1 seed and the Wildcats will be the No. 2 seed in the tournament. With the top seed, Penn State earned an automatic spot in the semifinals on Friday. Northwestern will face seventh-seeded Ohio State at approximately 12:15 p.m. ET in the tournament’s second game on Thursday.   

With Michigan and Michigan State tied at 4-2 in the conference standings, the Spartans collected the No. 3 seed due to their head-to-head win over the Wolverines on Oct. 11. Michigan State will face sixth-seeded Indiana at approximately 2:30 p.m. ET in Thursday’s final game. Fourth-seeded Michigan will battle fifth-seeded Iowa in the tournament’s opening game at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday.

The top-seeded Nittany Lions will face the winner of the matchup between Iowa and Michigan at 10 a.m. ET on Friday, Nov. 8. The second semifinal will pit the winner of the Northwestern-Ohio State and Michigan State-Indiana games at approximately 12:30 p.m. ET. The final will be held on Sunday, Nov. 10 at Noon ET.

BTN will provide live coverage of the quarterfinals, semifinals and final of the tournament. All three of Thursday’s games will be live streamed on the Big Ten Digital Network (BTDN). The first semifinal match on Friday will be live on BTN, while the second semifinal will air on delay at 11:30 p.m. ET that evening. The championship game will air live on BTN.