Michigan Wins Field Hockey Tournament Championship
Nov. 5, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- One second half goal lifted first-seeded Michigan over No. 3-seed Penn State, 1-0, in the championship game of the Big Ten Field Hockey Tournament at Ralph Young Field on Sunday. With the victory, Michigan (19-2, 8-0 Big Ten) earned the conference's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament, and secured its sixth Big Ten Tournament title.

Esther De Leijer, a 2017 All-Big Ten Second Team honoree, scored the game-winning goal in the 65th minute from Carly Bennett's assist. Michigan's Sam Swenson, the 2017 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, faced nine shots on goal but secured the Wolverines' 15th shutout of the season and Michigan's 16th consecutive victory.

The win marks Big Ten Coach of the Year Marcia Pankratz's fifth Big Ten Tournament title. The Wolverines earned their first tournament title since 2010.

The NCAA Selection Show will air live on NCAA.com Sunday night at 10 p.m. ET.

2017 Big Ten Field Hockey All-Tournament Team
Katie Birch, Iowa
Carrie Hanks, Maryland
Lein Holsboer, Maryland
Sam Swenson, Michigan
Katie Trombetta, Michigan
Katie Miller, Michigan State
Kirsten Mansfield, Northwestern
Charlotte Vaziri, Northwestern
Maartje Bongers, Ohio State
Cori Conley, Penn State
Maddie Morano, Penn State
Linde Van Schaik, Rutgers

Tournament MVP
Katie Trombetta, Michigan