Three Big Ten Field Hockey Teams Earn Bids to 2012 NCAA Championship

Nov. 6, 2012

Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

Three Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Field Hockey Championship, it was announced on Tuesday. Iowa, Michigan, and Penn State earned berths to the 16-team tournament, with each squad opening play on Saturday.

After winning its second consecutive Big Ten Tournament title and sixth overall, Penn State earns the No. 4 seed and will host Albany in opening-round play. The Nittany Lions put together a 17-3 record during the regular season en route to their third consecutive NCAA Championship appearance and their 27th overall.

Iowa makes its 22nd appearance in the national tournament after putting together a 14-6 record during the regular season. The Hawkeyes will travel to Charlottesville, Va., to take on Virginia in their first-round match.

Michigan makes its third consecutive and 11th overall appearance in the NCAA Championship after recording a 15-6 record in the regular season. The Wolverines visit Chapel Hill, N.C., to take on Old Dominion in their first match.

The first round of the NCAA Field Hockey Championship will be played on Saturday with the quarterfinals scheduled for Sunday. The semifinals will be held on Nov. 16 and the national championship will take place on Nov. 18 in Norfolk, Va. 

The complete bracket can be found at the top of the page.