Four Big Ten Field Hockey Teams Earn NCAA Tournament Bids
Nov. 6, 2017

NCAA Tournament Bracket

Rosemont, Ill. – Four Big Ten teams will compete in the NCAA Field Hockey Tournament, the NCAA announced Sunday night. Penn State, Michigan, Northwestern and Maryland earned berths to the 16-team tournament, with all three teams opening play on Saturday.

After winning their first Big Ten Tournament title since 2010, the Wolverines earned the third overall seed and will host Syracuse at 11:30 a.m. ET in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament. Michigan is making its third consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and 14th overall.

Penn State will take on defending national champions, Delaware, Saturday at 2 p.m. The Nittany Lions have qualified for the NCAA Tournament in seven of the last eight seasons. The Nittany Lions (16-4) and Delaware (15-4) will meet for the seventh time in postseason history, with the teams tied at 3-3. Penn State is making its 32nd NCAA Tournament appearance.

Northwestern faces Louisville at 2 p.m. in Ann Arbor, Mich. after earning an at-large big to the NCAA Tournament. It is the program’s 14th overall NCAA Tournament appearance and the first since 2014. The Wildcats and the Cardinals have played each other four of the last five seasons, including this year when Northwestern defeated Louisville 2-0 in Evanston.

Maryland will play Wake Forest in its 29th NCAA Tournament appearance at 2 p.m. This year marks Maryland’s 23rd straight NCAA Tournament berth, which is the longest active streak in the nation. Maryland is 57-21 (.731) in the NCAA Tournament.

The second round of the NCAA Field Hockey Championship will be played on Sunday.