NFHCA Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year Announced
Dec. 7, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Maryland and Michigan Coaching Staffs were named the 2017 National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) Collegiate Regional Coaching Staffs of the Year for the Mid-Atlantic and West regions, the association announced on Thursday. 

For the Mid-Atlantic region, head coach Missy Meharg and staff led the Terrapins to the national title game. Maryland won the final six games of the regular season, which included four straight victories over ranked opponents to conclude the stretch with wins over Ohio State, Penn State, Virginia and Rutgers. Maryland then beat Wake Forest and second-seeded Duke to make the semifinals of the NCAA Division I Tournament, where the Terps took out third-seeded Michigan by a 5-1 final to advance to the championship. Maryland fell in a close 2-1 contest to top-seed Connecticut in the national title game and finished the season with a 16-7 record.

For the West region, head coach Marcia Pankratz and staff led the Wolverines to an 18-game winning streak that carried the Wolverines to the semifinals of the NCAA Tournament. After early-season wins over North Carolina and Wake Forest, the Wolverines went 8-0 in the Big Ten during the regular season with victories over NCAA Tournament squads Maryland, Penn State and Northwestern on that slate along with a win at Louisville. The Wolverines then posted five consecutive shutouts going into the NCAA semifinals, taking out Ohio State, Northwestern and Penn State to win the Big Ten Tournament title and knocking off Syracuse and Northwestern in the first two rounds of the NCAA Tournament. Sixteen of Michigan's 21 wins came via shutout in 2017.

Pankratz was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the sixth time in 2017.

For the complete list of honorees, head to