Big Ten Women's Golf Opens Spring Slate This Weekend

Illinois' Michelle Mayer

Feb. 5, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The 2013-14 Big Ten women's golf season resumes on Sunday, with Illinois traveling to Venice, Fla., to compete in the Illinois Challenge. The remaining 11 teams will begin their spring schedule in the following three weeks.

Michigan State and Ohio State are set to compete in the Northrop Grumman Regional Challenge in Palos Verdes, Calif., from Feb. 9-11, while Minnesota and Wisconsin will play in the UCF Challenge in Orlando, Fla.

Michigan, Northwestern and Purdue will compete in the Lady Puerto Rico Classic from Feb. 16-18, while Indiana and Penn State will travel to Parrish, Fla., from Feb. 17-18 to take part in the Central District Invitational. Iowa and Nebraska will both begin their spring schedules at the Westbrook Invitational in Peoria, Ariz., from Feb. 23-24.

Five Big Ten teams closed the fall season ranked in the Golfweek/Sagarin top 50 poll. Northwestern led the way at No. 20, followed by No. 24 Michigan State and No. 33 Ohio State. Wisconsin and Illinois were ranked No. 38 and No. 39, respectively.

The 2014 Big Ten Women's Golf Championships will be held from April 25-27 at French Lick Resort in French Lick, Ind. Northwestern and Purdue shared the Big Ten title last year, marking the first crown in Wildcat history and the sixth title in Boilermaker history.