Ohio State Sweeps Women's Golf Medalist Honors

Due to snow accumulation on the golf course, the 2005 Big Ten Women's Golf Championship was called after 54-holes, but that did not put a damper on the victory for the Ohio State Buckeyes.  The school's fourth straight Big Ten Women's Golf Championship was earned by 32 strokes, the largest since 2000.  The difference between Ohio State's victory this season and Northwestern's five years ago, is that the Buckeyes' margin came in a three round event, while the Wildcats' spanned four.  With a six-over par total, senior Kristen White became the sixth Buckeye to earn the championship medalist honor.  Following White were teammates Lindsay Knowlton in second place and Jennifer Selfinger in third.  In addition to the championship medalists, season awards were presented.

All-Big Ten Second Team:
Alice Kim, NU
Dana Je, OSU
Whitney Frykman, PU
Ina Kim, NU
Jennifer Selfinger, OSU
Ali Stinson , MI         

All-Big Ten First Team:
Kristen White, OSU
Lindsay Knowlton, OSU
Myrte Eikenaar, PU
Brianna Broderick, MI
O. Sattayabanphot, PU
Laura Olin, MI

2005 Freshman of the Year:
Whitney Frykman- Purdue University

2005 Player of the Year:
Kristen White- The Ohio State University

2005 Coach of the Year:
Therese Hession- The Ohio State University 

Final Team Standings
1  Ohio State             +36 
2  Michigan                +68
3  Michigan State        +69 
4  Purdue                   +74 
5  Northwestern Univ.   +80 
6  Iowa, U of              +95 
7  Minnesota, U. of      +101 
8  Wisconsin, U. of      +115 
9  Illinois, U. of           +117 
10  Indiana University  +119 
11  Penn State Univ.   +121 

Final Individual Standings
1  Kristen White                 Ohio State  +6 
2  Lindsay Knowlton            Ohio State  +9
3  Jennifer Selfinger            Ohio State  +10 
T4 Dana Je                       Ohio State  +11 
T4 Heather Rose                Michigan St +11 
T4 Onnarin Sattayabanphot Purdue      +11

The Conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Sportsmanship Honorees:
Illinois- Lindsey Milligan
Indiana- Molly Redfearn
Iowa- Liz Bennett
Michigan- Laura Olin
Michigan State- Kristen Polanski
Minnesota- Emily Brand
Northwestern- Heather Scholten
Ohio State- Erin Borowiec
Penn State- Amber Weinerth
Purdue- Myrte Eikenaar
Wisconsin- Jill Ries