Big Ten Announces Women’s Golf All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

Michigan State's Sarah Burnham was named the 2017 Big Ten Women's Golf Player of the Year.

April 25, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced the women’s golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners on Tuesday following the 2017 Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships. Michigan State’s Sarah Burnham was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, the Spartans’ Allyson Geer earned Freshman of the Year honors and Michigan State head coach Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Burnham completed the regular season and Big Ten Championships with the highest Golfweek/Sagarin Big Ten player rating (71.94). She posted a season stroke average of 72.17, and finished second at the Big Ten Championships, shooting a three-round score of 5-under par 211. Burnham helped the Spartans secure their first Big Ten Championship since 2014. Burnham becomes the fourth Michigan State student to earn Big Ten Player of the Year honors, and the first since Carolina Powers in 2013.

Geer posted the best Golfweek/Sagarin Big Ten player rating among conference freshmen (72.77) after appearing in six tournaments this season. She tallied a fourth-place finish at last weekend’s Big Ten Championships, shooting even-par over the three rounds. Lau becomes the fourth Michigan State player to earn Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors and the first since Dayna Burleigh in the 2003 season.

Slobodnik-Stoll guided Michigan State to its seventh Big Ten Championship after the Spartans carded a three-round team total of 866 (298-283-285) in the Big Ten Championships at TPC River’s Bend. Slobodnik-Stoll claims Coach of the Year honors for the fourth time, also earning the nod in 2001, 2007 and 2012.

The All-Big Ten first team features Michigan’s Elodie Van Dievoet, the 2017 individual Big Ten Champion, along with Michigan State’s Burnham and Geer, Northwestern’s Hannah Kim and Stephanie Lau, Purdue’s Micaela Farah and August Kim and Wisconsin’s Brooke Ferrell. Burnham, Lau, Hannah Kim, August Kim and Ferrell were all named first-team All-Big Ten for the second consecutive season.



The Big Ten also recognized 14 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the students must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

2017 BIG TEN WOMEN’S GOLF ALL-CONFERENCE AND INDIVIDUAL AWARD WINNERS Big Ten Player of the Year: Sarah Burnham, Michigan State Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Allyson Geer, Michigan State Big Ten Coach of the Year: Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll, Michigan State

First Team

Elodie Van Dievoet, Michigan
Sarah Burnham, Michigan State
Allyson Geer, Michigan State
Hannah Kim, Northwestern
Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Micaela Farah, Purdue
August Kim, Purdue
Brooke Ferrell, Wisconsin

Second Team
Swing Liu, Illinois
Tristyn Nowlin, Illinois
Sarah Cho, Northwestern
Janet Mao, Northwestern
Jaclyn Lee, Ohio State
Katja Pogacar, Ohio State
Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State
Covadonga SanJuan, Purdue

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Grace Park, Illinois
Carolina Garrett, Indiana
Jessica Ip, Iowa
Ludovica Farina, Maryland
Grace Choi, Michigan
Katie Sharp, Michigan State
Muyu Wu, Minnesota
Sarah Pravecek, Nebraska
Kacie Komoto, Northwestern
Rio Watanabe, Ohio State
Jackie Rogowicz, Penn State
Marta Martin, Purdue
Emily Mills, Rutgers
Michelle Cheung, Wisconsin