Five Conference Teams Selected To NCAA Regional Competition

April 26, 2010

On Monday afternoon, five Big Ten women’s golf teams and two individuals were invited to compete in NCAA Regional competition, scheduled to take place May 6-8, by the 2010 NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee. Four squads were selected into the Central Region, to be played at the Otter Creek Golf Course in Columbus, Ind., while the fifth was selected into the West Regional, which will be held at the Stanford Golf Course in Stanford, Calif.

Big Ten Champion and NCAA Regional automatic qualifier Purdue is the No. 3 seed in the Central Regional and is joined by Big Ten runner-up and fourth-seeded Michigan State, No. 13 Northwestern and No. 20 Indiana. Ohio State, which finished third in the Big Ten Championships, is the No. 4 seed and the lone conference team in the West Regional.

Additionally, Michigan’s Ashley Bauer was selected as an individual into the Central Regional, and Minnesota’s Teresa Puga will compete in the West Regional.

Overall, 72 teams from across three regionals will compete for 24 spots at the NCAA Championships, scheduled for May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall’s Pete Dye Course in Wilmington, N.C. The top eight teams and top two individuals not on a qualifying team advance from each regional.

NCAA Release