Eight Big Ten Teams Selected to NCAA Women's Golf Regionals

April 26, 2011

The Big Ten will be well-represented at the 2011 NCAA Women's Golf Regionals, as eight conference teams and one individual golfer have earned spots in the field. The regional field is divided among three sites, with 24 teams and six individuals competing in each on May 5-7. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional to the NCAA Championships.

Big Ten Champion Michigan State and Purdue will head to the East Regional in Daytona Beach, Fla., where the Boilermakers enter as the No. 2 seed in the regional and the Spartans hold the No. 6 seed in the 24-team field.

Six Big Ten teams and one individual will compete in the Central Regional in Notre Dame, Ind., headlined by No. 10 seed Ohio State. Northwestern holds the No. 13 seed at the regional, while Minnesota has earned the No. 14 seed. Wisconsin enters as the No. 18 seed, and Michigan and Illinois round out the Big Ten contingent at Nos. 20 and 21, respectively. Indiana's Lindsay Gahm will compete individually in the regional.

The 2011 NCAA Women's Golf Championships will be held May 18-21 at the Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas, and will be hosted by Texas A&M University.