NCAA Women’s Golf Regional Field Announced

Purdue earned the No. 7 seed in the Columbus Regional.

April 27, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Seven Big Ten teams and golfers from two additional conference schools were chosen to compete in the 2017 NCAA Women’s Golf Regionals, as announced on the Golf Channel Thursday morning. The regional field is divided among four sites and will be held May 8-10. Six teams and three individuals will advance from each regional to the NCAA Championships.

Illinois garnered the No. 8 seed in the Albuquerque Regional, and will compete at The Championship Golf Course at UNM in Albuquerque, N.M. Northwestern is the No. 3 seed in the Athens Regional, while Big Ten Champion Michigan State garnered the No. 14 seed. The Wildcats and Spartans will compete at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga.

Michigan, Ohio State, Purdue and Wisconsin will all begin their postseason runs in the Columbus Regional, with the Buckeyes serving as the host at the Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio. The Wolverines earned the No. 9 seed, the Buckeyes are seeded eighth, the Boilermakers will serve as the No. 7 seed while Wisconsin is seeded 13th in the Columbus Regional.

Minnesota’s Emie Peronnin and Nebraska’s Kate Smith will compete as individuals in the Columbus Regional. The NCAA Championships will be May 19-24 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill. The final three days of competition will be televised live by the Golf Channel.