NCAA Women's Golf Regional Field Announced

April 29, 2013

Seven Big Ten teams earned spots in the 2013 NCAA Women’s Golf Regionals, it was announced on Monday night. The regional field is divided among three sites, with 24 teams and six individuals competing at each site on May 9-11. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional to the NCAA Championships.

Northwestern and Penn State will head to the East Regional in Auburn, Ala., where the Wildcats enter as the No. 10 seed, and the Nittany Lions hold the No. 16 seed in the 24-team field.

Three Big Ten teams will compete in the Central Regional in Norman, Okla. Michigan State holds the No. 9 seed at the regional, while Indiana earned the No. 17 seed and Wisconsin is seeded 20th.

Purdue and Ohio State will travel to the West Regional in Palo Alto, Calif. The Boilermakers are the No. 4 seed, while Ohio State is the No. 13 seed.

The 2013 NCAA Women's Golf Championships will be held May 21-24 at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Ga.