Big Ten Announces Women's Golf All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

Ohio State's Jessica Porvasnik

April 29, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced the women’s golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners on Tuesday following the 2014 Big Ten Women’s Golf Championships. Ohio State’s Jessica Porvasnik was named the Big Ten Player of the Year and the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while the Buckeyes’ Therese Hession was tabbed the Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Porvasnik captured both individual honors after claiming the individual Big Ten Championship, finishing the conference championships with a three-round score of even-par 216 (73-72-71). Porvasnik completed the regular season with the highest Sagarin rating of all Big Ten players (72.87). She became Ohio State’s first Player of the Year winner since Kristen White in 2005 and its first Freshman of the Year recipient since Kendall Prince in 2012.

Hession led Ohio State to its first Big Ten Championship since 2005. The Buckeyes shot a 31-over par 895 team score at the Pete Dye Course, tying Michigan State for the conference title.

The All-Big Ten first team features Michigan State’s Liz Nagel, Northwestern’s Hana Lee and Kaitlin Park, Ohio State’s Zoe-Beth Brake and Porvasnik and Purdue’s Aurora Kan. Earning second-team All-Big Ten honors were Illinois’ Ember Schuldt, Michigan State’s Allyssa Ferrell, Northwestern’s Kacie Komoto and Elizabeth Szokol, Ohio State’s Katja Pogacar and Penn State’s Ellen Ceresko.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

Big Ten Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year: Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Therese Hession, Ohio State



First Team
Liz Nagel, Michigan State
Hana Lee, Northwestern
Kaitlin Park, Northwestern
Zoe-Beth Brake, Ohio State
Jessica Porvasnik, Ohio State
Aurora Kan, Purdue 

Second Team
Ember Schuldt, Illinois
Allyssa Ferrell, Michigan State
Kacie Komoto, Northwestern
Elizabeth Szokol, Northwestern
Katja Pogacar, Ohio State
Ellen Ceresko, Penn State 

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Ember Schuldt, Illinois
Elizabeth Tong, Indiana
Jessie Sindlinger, Iowa
Catherine Peters, Michigan
Lindsey McPherson, Michigan State
Anna Laorr, Minnesota
Steffi Neisen, Nebraska
Hana Lee, Northwestern
Claudia Lim, Ohio State
Christina Vosters, Penn State
Aurora Kan, Purdue
Kris Yoo, Wisconsin