Purdue Claims 2006 Big Ten Women's Golf Championship

April 30, 2006

Final Round Team Results in PDF Format

Final Round Player Results in PDF Format

Final Round Team/Player Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

2006 Big Ten Women's Golf Postseason Honors

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - For the first since 2000 and just the second time in school history, the Purdue Boilermakers have won the Big Ten Women's Golf Championships.  Despite wet and windy conditions, the Boilermakers held off Michigan State and Ohio State to claim the 72-hole title Sunday at the Indiana University Golf Course in Bloomington.

The win for Purdue (290-296-295-298--1179) ends Ohio State's four-year reign over the conference.  The Buckeyes (293-297-296-2999--1185) finished second, six shots ahead of Michigan State (296-294-293-308--1191).  Michigan (296-301-298-307--1202) placed fourth, followed by Northwestern (297-303-302-310--1212) and Indiana (300-292-301-321--1214).  Rounding out the field was Penn State (303-302-299-311--1215), Iowa (301-302-300-320--1223), Wisconsin (313-300-314-325--1252), Illinois (321-304-314-319--1258) and Minnesota (311-307-318-327--1263).

Individually, Northwestern's Alice Kim struggled to a final-round 77 and bogeyed her last hole, but managed to avoid a four-person playoff for medalist honors.  Kim's win is the first for a Wildcat golfer at the conference championship.

Michigan State's Sara Brown (72-73-71-76), Ohio State's Carling Coffing (72-74-71-75) and Purdue's Maria Hernandez (72-73-74-73) all tied for second, one shot back of Kim, at 4-over 292.  Michigan's Amy Schmucker (74-74-71-75) placed fifth at 6-over 294.

Tied for sixth at 7-over 295 was Indiana's Elaine Harris (71-70-76-78) and Purdue's Christel Boeljon (72-74-74-75), while rounding out the top 10 in a three-way tie for eighth was Indiana's Shannon Johnson (75-72-72-79), Ohio State's Dana Je (75-74-76-73) and Purdue's Myrte Eikenaar (73-74-76-75).