Big Ten Women's Golf Set to Compete in NCAA Regionals

Eight Big Ten teams and one individual golfer will compete in NCAA Women's Golf Regionals this weekend.

May 3, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format | East Regional Live Scoring | Central Regional Live Scoring

Eight Big Ten teams and one individual golfer travel to NCAA Women's Golf Regionals this weekend seeking a berth to the NCAA Championships. Six Big Ten teams will compete in the Central Regional while two conference squads will travel to the East Regional. The regionals are slated to get underway on Thursday, with the third and final round taking place on Saturday. Tee times on all three days of competition begin at 8 a.m. ET.

Big Ten Champion Michigan State and defending NCAA Champion Purdue will compete in the East Regional at LPGA International in Daytona Beach, Fla. The Boilermakers received the No. 2 seed in the regional while the Spartans enter the event as the No. 6 seed.

The Big Ten boasts six of the 24 teams competing in the Central Regional at Notre Dame's Warren Golf Course. Ohio State earned the highest seed among conference teams in the regional, entering as the No. 10 seed. Northwestern received the No. 13 seed, followed by No. 14 Minnesota, No. 18 Wisconsin, No. 20 Michigan and No. 21 Illinois. Indiana's Lindsay Gahm was also selected to compete individually in the Central Regional.

Last year, Purdue was the lone Big Ten team to advance out of the regional round, taking third place at the Central Regional to move on to the NCAA Championships. The Boilermakers would then win their first national title, finishing one stroke ahead of USC to win the crown.

Eight teams and two individuals from non-qualifying teams will advance from each of the three regionals, cutting the field from 72 teams and 18 individuals to 24 teams and six individuals for the NCAA Championships. The national tournament, hosted by Texas A&M, is scheduled for May 18-21 at the Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas.