Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Award Nominee -- Numa Gulyanamitta, Purdue

Numa Gulyanamitta is Purdue's nominee for the Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Award.

June 14, 2011

Through Friday, the Big Ten will highlight each of the 22 student-athletes nominated for the conference’s Jesse Owens Male and Suzy Favor Female Athlete of the Year Awards. Award winners are voted on by a pre-selected media panel and will be announced live on the Big Ten Network’s season-ending awards show on Monday at 6:30 p.m. CT.

Gulyanamitta was named the Big Ten’s Player of the Year in 2011 on the heels of a season which saw her win the conference’s individual title and the Marry Fossum Award, given to the conference player with the lowest stroke average to par. She earned second-team All-America recognition and finished the season ranked No. 16 in the nation. A four-time first-team All-Big Ten honoree, Gulyanamitta averaged 72.55 strokes per round in 2011, the lowest average of her career. Click HERE for more information on Numa.


Ashley Benson, Indiana Volleyball

Derek Drouin, Indiana Track & Field

Kachine Alexander, Iowa Basketball

Vince India, Iowa Golf

Emily MacLeod, Michigan State Cross Country/Track

Greg Jones, Michigan State Football

Kelci Bryant, Minnesota Diving



Michael Richards, Minnesota Swimming