2009 Women's Golf Final Release

June 16, 2009

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The 2009 women’s golf season ended on Friday, May 22, when Purdue’s Maria Hernandez was crowned the NCAA’s individual champion, becoming the first Big Ten womens golfer to do so.  The senior captured the title by one stroke over USC’s Jennifer Song, posting a four-round score of 289 (+1).  For her efforts during the season, the three-time conference Player of the Year was named the PING National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) National Player of the Year and also won the Honda Sports Award for the nation’s top collegiate female golfer, both firsts for the conference.

As a team the Boilermakers finished 10th at the National Championships, shooting a 72-hole team score of 1,216 (+64).  This marks the fourth-straight year that Purdue has placed within the top 10 and the eighth-straight year that a Big Ten team has garnered top-10 honors.  Michigan State was not far behind the Boilermakers in 13th-place as the Spartans tallied 1,225 (+73) strokes. Ohio State was the third and final Big Ten squad to compete in the NCAA competition as the Buckeyes placed 24th with a total of 1,258 (+106).

Hernandez picked up first-team All-America honors for her third consecutive season while teammate Maude-Aimee LeBlanc was given second-team recognition by the NGCA.  Michigan State Laura Kueny was named an honorable mention All-America member.  Boilermaker general Devon Brouse earned to the title of Central Region Coach of the Year while his colleague Jo Jo Robertson was named as the nation’s top assistant women’s golf coach.    



Multimedia Store