Men's and Women's Golf Preseason Honorees
Aug. 30, 2017

2017-18 Men's Golf Preseason Honors Get Acrobat Reader | 2017-18 Women's Golf Preseason Honors Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. - The Big Ten announced its 2017-18 Men’s and Women's Golf preseason honorees on Wednesday, in the advance of the 2017-18 season. Nineteen students earned All-Big Ten honors in 2017.

The men’s golf preseason honorees feature 10 standouts who garnered All-Big Ten recognition last spring: Illinois’ Michael Feagles, Nick Hardy and Dylan Meyer, Iowa’s Matthew Walker, Michigan’s Kyle Mueller, Northwestern’s Ryan Lumsden and Dylan Wu, Ohio State’s Will Grimmer and Penn State’s Charles Huntzinger and Cole Miller. Meyer was named the 2017 Big Ten Player of the Year honors, while Feagles claimed Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors.

Seventeen men’s golfers claiming preseason honors were also Academic All-Big Ten recipients last spring: Hardy, Indiana’s Jake Brown, Maryland’s Tim Colanta, Mueller, Minnesota’s Rúnar Arnórsson and Riley Johnson, Nebraska’s Jace Guthmiller, Northwestern’s Sam Triplett, Lumsden, Wu, Ohio State’s Daniel Wetterich and Grimmer, Penn State’s Cole Miller, Purdue’s Timmy Hildebrand and Jarle Volden and Rutgers Matt Holuta and Toks Pedro.

On the women’s side, nine students claimed All-Big Ten honors in 2017: Illinois’ Tristyn Nowlin, Michigan’s Elodie Van Dievoet, Michigan State’s Sarah Burnham and Allyson Geer, Northwestern’s Hannah Kim, Stephanie Lau and Janet Mao, Ohio State’s Jaclyn Lee and Purdue’s Micaela Farah. Burnham was named the 2017 Big Ten Player of the Year, while Van Dievoet was the individual medalist at the 2017 Big Ten Championships. Geer earned Big Ten Freshman of the Year plaudits.

Twenty-two women’s golfers claiming preseason honors were named Academic All-Big Ten in 2017: Illinois’ Jan Prapassarangkul and Bing Singhsumalee, Indiana’s Erin Harper and Alix Kong, Michigan’s Megan Kim, Michigan State’s Katie Sharp and Burnham, Minnesota’s Heather Ciskowski, Sabrine Garrison and Muyu Wu, Nebraska’s Audrey Judd, Kim, Mao, Lau, Lee, Ohio State’s Rio Watanabe, Penn State’s Cara Basso, Jackie Rogowicz and Lauren Waller, Purdue’s Marta Martin, Rutgers’ Emily Mills and Wisconsin’s Becky Klongland.

The 2017-18 Big Ten golf season begins this weekend, with Ohio State’s men’s team traveling to the Carmel Cup in Pebble Beach, Calif., from Sept. 1-3. Nebraska kicks off the Big Ten women’s golf season on Friday at the UNO Invitational.

The Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Golf preseason honorees can be found attached.