Big Ten Announces Men's and Women's Golfers to Watch Lists

Sept. 4, 2012

Big Ten Men's Golfers to Watch Get Acrobat Reader | Big Ten Women's Golfers to Watch Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten announced its 2012-13 Men’s and Women's Golfers to Watch Lists on Tuesday, with three student-athletes from each conference team decorating the list. Fourteen of the 72 golfers closed the 2011-12 season with All-Big Ten honors.

On the men’s side, five returning All-Big Ten selections from last season highlight the list, including NCAA Individual Champion Thomas Pieters of Illinois. Pieters is joined by Indiana’s David Mills from last year’s first team, while the Illini’s Mason Jacobs, Iowa’s Stephen Ihm and Minnesota’s Erik Van Rooyen received second-team recognition.

The women feature nine returning All-Big Ten honorees from last season on the 2012-13 watch list, including five of the six first-team honorees, Caroline Powers of Michigan State, Ohio State’s Amy Meier and Rachel Rohanna and Purdue’s Laura Gonzalez-Escallon and Paula Reto. Michigan’s Yugene Lee, Michigan’s State’s Liz Nagel, Minnesota’s Banchalee Theinthong and Ohio State’s Susana Benevides received second-team honors last season.

The 2012-13 Big Ten men’s and women's golf seasons officially begin this weekend, as six men’s teams and three women’s squads take to the course for the first time of the fall season.

The Big Ten Men’s and Women’s Golfers to Watch Lists can be found above.