Women's Gymnastics Opens Season

Jan. 5, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The 2017 Big Ten women’s gymnastics season is set to begin this weekend, as nine conference teams compete for the first time. Competition begins on Friday evening when Illinois travels to Missouri (with Ball State) and Michigan State hosts UIC. The action on Saturday is headlined by a top-10 meet between Michigan and Utah in Salt Lake City, while Minnesota hosts Denver in another highly-anticipated early-season meet. Ohio State will travel to Pittsburgh for a dual meet, while Penn State and Rutgers both host quad meets to begin the season.

Two teams will begin the regular season on Sunday, as Iowa travels to Northern Illinois and Maryland hosts West Virginia.

Heading into the season, eight conference teams are ranked in the Road to Nationals Preseason Coaches’ Poll. Michigan won the 2016 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships title for the third-consecutive season, while Minnesota captured the regular season championship. The 2017 Big Ten Championships will be held in Piscataway, N.J. on March 18.

Jan. 6
No. 24 ILLINOIS at No. 19 Missouri, Ball State (Columbia, Mo.), 8 pm ET
No. 28 MICHIGAN STATE vs. UIC (East Lansing, Mich.), 7 pm ET

Jan. 7
No. 7 MICHIGAN at No. 6 Utah (Salt Lake City, Utah), 7 pm ET
No. 16 MINNESOTA vs. No. 14 Denver (Minneapolis, Minn.), 7:30 pm ET
No. 27 OHIO STATE at Pittsburgh (Pittsburgh, Pa.), 6:30 pm ET
No. 23 PENN STATE vs. Bowling Green, No. 36 BYU, Temple (University Park, Pa.), 4 pm ET
RUTGERS vs. Bridgeport, No. 35 New Hampshire, William & Mary (Piscataway, N.J.), 1 pm ET

Jan. 8
No. 22 IOWA at Northern Illinois (DeKalb, Ill.), 2 pm ET
MARYLAND vs. No. 29 West Virginia (College Park, Md.), 1 pm ET