Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award

Minnesota gymnast Lindsay Mable is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a 2015 Academic All-American.
March 1, 2016 Cody Rush of Nebraska and Lindsay Mable of Minnesota have been chosen as the 2016 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award recipients by the Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership. The award is an annual scholarship recognizing one male and one female Big Ten senior pursuing a postgraduate degree for achievements in academics, athletics, extracurricular activities and leadership.

In recognition of the Big Ten’s leadership in fully integrating athletics into the academic mission of its member institutions, the Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership initiated the Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award in 2008. Each Big Ten institution was asked to nominate one male and one female student for 2016, with a $10,000 scholarship awarded to each winner.

The Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award is named for the former Big Ten Conference commissioner who served from 1971-89. While leading the Big Ten, Duke spent much of his time working to improve academic standards and graduation rates for students competing in conference athletics. The award is made possible by donations from local corporations and individuals supporting intercollegiate athletics. The Indianapolis Big Ten Community Partnership is comprised of the State of Indiana, City of Indianapolis, Indiana Sports Corp, Pacers Sports & Entertainment and Visit Indy.

Rush is competing in track and field at Nebraska and will graduate in May with a degree in nutrition science. In his final undergraduate semester, Rush boasts a 3.931 GPA and plans to attend the University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry after graduation. The senior from Grand Island, Neb., is a member of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Athlete-2-Athlete Mentors and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. While at Nebraska, Rush was a four-time USTFCCCA first-team All-American, two-time All-Big Ten honoree, an Academic All-America selection and a two-time Academic All-Big Ten recipient. Rush is Nebraska’s fifth Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award honoree.

In the community, Rush has volunteered to speak with elementary students about topics including academics, college life and teamwork, while also assisting with numerous elementary school events and fundraisers. He has also volunteered his time to the Belmont Community Center, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, People’s City Mission Free Clinic, Make-A-Wish Foundation and Husker Heroes.

A Big Ten Sportsmanship Award honoree, Rush hopes to return to rural Nebraska upon receiving his dentistry degree to run his own practice and get involved and make an impact in the community.

Mable, a gymnast at Minnesota, is a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a 2015 Academic All-American. The senior from Aurora, Colo., holds a 3.838 GPA in elementary education and aspires to be an elementary school teacher. Mable becomes Minnesota’s third Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award recipient and second consecutive as Gophers’ swimmer Jessica Plant earned the honor last year.

The 2013 Big Ten Freshman of the Year and 2015 Big Ten Gymnast of the Year volunteers with Feed My Starving Children, Special Olympics clinics and Goldy’s Kids Club clinics. She has also given her time to volunteer with the Golden Gopher Fund Thank-a-thon, Unlimited Dance Marathon and HopeKids.

The three-time All-Big Ten honoree has claimed five individual Big Ten titles, while also leading her team to two regular-season conference championships. She boasts seven individual NCAA Regional crowns and is the reigning back-to-back NCAA Regional all-around and floor exercise champion. Mable owns 11 regular-season and championship All-American Awards and was a 2015 Honda Award nominee.

Rush and Mable will be recognized in Indianapolis during the Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament quarterfinals on Friday, March 11.

2016 Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award Nominees:
University of Illinois: Sloane McDermott, swimming and diving; Mason Monheim, football
Indiana University: Courtney Harnish, volleyball
University of Iowa: Briana Midkiff, golf; Cole Fisher, football
University of Maryland: Malina Howard, basketball; Tyler Manion, wrestling
University of Michigan: Lindsay Williams, gymnastics; Brad Anlauf, basketball/football
Michigan State University: Cara Miller, basketball; Colby Wollenman, basketball
University of Minnesota: Lindsay Mable, gymnastics; Jonathan Christenson, football
University of Nebraska: Mattie Fowler, softball; Cody Rush, track and field
Northwestern University: Jennifer Yamin, fencing; Traveon Henry, football
Ohio State University: Katie Mitchell, volleyball; William Haynes, football
Penn State University: Clarisse Luminet, fencing; Christian Kaschak, soccer
Purdue University: Aarin Jones, track and field; Andrew Hoselton, wrestling
Rutgers University: Margaret Morash, soccer
University of Wisconsin: Rachel Johnson, swimming and diving; Adam Lauko, soccer

Previous Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award Recipients:
2015: Campbell Sode, Rutgers, men’s lacrosse; Jessica Plant, Minnesota, women’s swimming
2014: Spencer Long, Nebraska, football; Emily Wong, Nebraska, women’s gymnastics
2013: Sean Fisher, Nebraska, football; Katelyn White, Nebraska, women’s cross country and track and field
2012: Miguel Pineda, Penn State, men’s gymnastics; Margaux Farrell, Indiana, women’s swimming
2011: Mike Torchia, Minnesota, men’s cross country and track and field; Allie Smith, Purdue, women’s swimming
2010: Mark Ison, Northwestern, football; Chelsea Davis, Ohio State, women’s diving
2009: Drew Ratner, Northwestern, men’s soccer; Lauren Mioton, Purdue, women’s basketball
2008: Kevin Trulock, Indiana, football; Molly Crispell, Penn State, women’s swimming

About the Big Ten Conference: The Big Ten Conference is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,500 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. The Big Ten sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men’s ice hockey and men’s and women’s lacrosse since 2013. For more information, visit www.bigten.org.

Indiana Sports Corp’s mission is to create positive impact by hosting world-class sporting events that enhance vibrancy in the community, build civic pride, drive economic impact and media exposure, and encourage opportunities for youth. A not-for-profit organization, Indiana Sports Corp was founded in 1979 as the nation’s first sports commission. Our upcoming schedule of events includes Big Ten Basketball Tournaments, the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Final Four and NCAA Divisions II and III Women’s Basketball Championship Games, NCAA Division II Swimming and Diving Championships, Big Ten Conference Football Championship Games through 2021, Big Ten Basketball Tournaments, 2016 U.S. Olympic Team Trials – Diving, and much more. For more information, visit www.IndianaSportsCorp.org.