Big Ten Announces 2016 Women’s Gymnastics All-Conference Teams and Championships Schedule

March 14, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its women’s gymnastics All-Big Ten teams and Big Ten Championships schedule on Monday. The All-Conference teams are determined by regional qualifying scores, while each team’s finish at last weekend’s Big Five meets determined the order of appearance at this weekend’s Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships.


Sixteen gymnasts from six different schools earned first-team All-Big Ten honors. The All-Big Ten first team consists of Illinois’ Sunny Kato and Giana O’Connor, Iowa’s Mollie Drenth, Michigan’s Nicole Artz, Brianna Brown, Talia Chiarelli, Olivia Karas, Austin Sheppard and Lindsay Williams, Minnesota’s Bailie Holst, Lindsay Mable and Hanna Nordquist, Nebraska’s Hollie Blanske and Grace Williams and Penn State’s Kiera Brown and Briannah Tsang.


An additional 13 gymnasts were named to the All-Big Ten second team, including Iowa’s Allie Glover and Angel Metcalf, Maryland’s Kathy Tang, Michigan State’s Lisa Burt and Elena Lagoski, Minnesota’s Ciara Gardner and Madeline Hanley, Nebraska’s Danielle Breen and Jennie Laeng, Ohio State’s Kaitlynn Hofland, Alexis Mattern and Jamie Stone and Penn State’s Nicole Medvitz.


At Saturday’s championships, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland and Rutgers will compete in the morning session at 11:05 a.m. CT, while the evening session will feature Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State, beginning at 4:05 p.m.


The 2016 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships will be held at Devaney Center on Nebraska’s campus. BTN will provide live coverage of both sessions.


The championships schedule and rotations, along with the All-Big Ten teams, can be found below.





Morning Session – 11:05 a.m. CT

Maryland – Vault

Iowa – Bars

Rutgers – Beam

Illinois – Floor  

Evening Session – 4:05 p.m. CT

Michigan – Vault

Michigan State – Bye 1

Minnesota – Bars

Ohio State – Beam

Penn State – Bye 2

Nebraska – Floor



Sunny Kato, ILL

Giana O’Connor, ILL

Mollie Drenth, IOWA

Nicole Artz, MICH

Brianna Brown, MICH

Talia Chiarelli, MICH

Olivia Karas, MICH

Austin Sheppard, MICH

Lindsay Williams, MICH

Bailie Holst, MINN

Lindsay Mable, MINN

Hanna Nordquist, MINN

Hollie Blanske, NEB

Grace Williams, NEB

Kiera Brown, PSU

Briannah Tsang, PSU



Allie Glover, IOWA

Angel Metcalf, IOWA

Kathy Tang, MD

Lisa Burt, MSU

Elena Lagoski, MSU

Ciara Gardner, MINN

Madeline Hanley, MINN

Danielle Breen, NEB

Jennie Laeng, NEB

Kaitlynn Hofland, OSU

Alexis Mattern, OSU

Jamie Stone, OSU

Nicole Medvitz, PSU


*Additional honorees due to ties