Women's Gymnastics Champs Preview

March 17, 2017

2017 WGYM Big Ten Champs Get Acrobat Reader

Rutgers Championships Central

Big Ten Championships Central

Rosemont, Ill. - The 2017 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships will be held on Saturday at the Rutgers Athletic Center in Piscataway, N.J. All 10 conference squads will compete in one of Saturday’s two sessions, and the team with the highest score, regardless of the session, will win the Big Ten Championship.

Each team’s finish at last weekend’s Big Five meets determined the order of appearance at the conference championships. At Saturday’s championships, Maryland, Michigan State, Minnesota and Rutgers will compete in the afternoon session at Noon ET, while the evening session will feature Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State, beginning at 5 p.m.

Michigan earned last season’s Big Ten Championship, securing its third-consecutive and 22nd championship overall. The Wolverines’ Nicole Artz will look to defend her floor exercise and balance beam titles from a year ago, while Nebraska’s Grace Williams also returns to defend her title on the balance beam.

Four conference teams enter the Big Ten Championships ranked in the Road to Nationals Top 25 poll. Michigan leads the pack with a No. 9 ranking, followed by No. 13 Nebraska, No. 20 Illinois and No. 24 Ohio State.

Michigan and Nebraska each clinched a share of the Big Ten regular-season title on Saturday after finishing the season with an 8-1 Big Ten record. The Wolverines earned the third regular-season title in program history, while the Huskers secured a second title.