Big Ten Announces Women's Gymnastics All-Conference Teams

March 18, 2011

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference announced today the 2011 women's gymnastics All-Big Ten teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees. The 11-gymnast first team and nine-gymnast second team were chosen through a vote by the conference's coaches.

The All-Big Ten first team is headlined by Michigan's Kylee Botterman, who has received first-team honors in each of her four seasons with the Wolverines. Botterman is the 11th Michigan gymnast to land on the first team four times and the first since Calli Ryals (2001-04). Illinois' Allison Buckley has also earned first-team accolades multiple times, garnering conference recognition for the third time of her career.

Illinois' Melissa Fernandez, Iowa's Rebecca Simbhudas and Penn State's Sharaya Musser each earned spots on the All-Conference first team for the second time in their careers. Six first-time honorees also join the group - Iowa's Jessa Hansen, Michigan's Natalie Beilstein and Jordan Sexton, Ohio State's Colleen Dean and Sarah Miller and Penn State's Natalie Ettl.

The Big Ten also recognized seven Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Individual conference awards will be announced at the conclusion of the Big Ten Championships, which are scheduled for Saturday at 2:05 p.m. CT in Minneapolis. The championships will be broadcast live by the Big Ten Network.

The complete list of All-Big Ten teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees can be found below.

Allison Buckley, ILL
Melissa Fernandez, ILL
Jessa Hansen, IOWA
Rebecca Simbhudas, IOWA
Natalie Beilstein, MICH
Kylee Botterman, MICH
Jordan Sexton, MICH
Colleen Dean, OSU
Sarah Miller, OSU
Natalie Ettl, PSU
Sharaya Musser, PSU



Kelsey Joannides, ILL
Houry Gebeshian, IOWA
Sarah Curtis, MICH
Jackie Berg, MSU
Kendra Elm, MINN
Kristin Furukawa, MINN
Kayla Slechta, MINN
Melanie Shaffer, OSU
Madison Merriam, PSU

Elise Gill, ILL
Jessa Hansen, IOWA
Trish Wilson, MICH
Kathryn Mahoney, MSU
Kristin Furukawa, MINN
Nicole Krauter, OSU
Natalie Ettl, PSU

* - Eleven first-team honorees and nine second-team honorees due to a tie on the first team.