Big Ten Announces Women's Gymnastics All-Conference Teams and Championships Seeds

March 18, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

The Big Ten Conference announced its women’s gymnastics All-Big Ten teams and Big Ten Championships seeds on Monday. The All-Conference teams and Big Ten Championships seeds are determined by the teams’ regional qualifying score and the seeds will dictate which session each team competes in at this weekend’s conference championships.

Fifteen gymnasts earned first-team All-Big Ten honors after finishing the regular season ranked in the top eight of at least one event. The All-Big Ten first team consists of Illinois’ Alina Weinstein, Michigan’s Brittnee Martinez, Joanna Sampson, Sachi Sugiyama and Katie Zurales, Minnesota’s Shannon Golich, Lindsay Mable and Kylie Schermann, Nebraska’s Jessie DeZiel, Janelle Giblin, Jennifer Lauer and Emily Wong, Ohio State’s Sarah Miller and Penn State’s Madison Merriam and Sharaya Musser.

Collecting second-team All-Conference honors are Illinois’ Sunny Kato, Giana O’Connor and Amber See, Michigan’s Natalie Beilstein and Shelby Gies, Michigan State’s Taira Neal, Minnesota’s Kayla Slechta, Nebraska’s Brittany Skinner and Ohio State’s Alyssa Marohn and Melanie Shaffer.

After closing the regular season with the top regional qualifying score in the conference, Michigan earned the top seed heading into this weekend’s Big Ten Championships. The Wolverines will be joined in the evening session by No. 2 Nebraska, No. 3 Minnesota and No. 4 Penn State. The afternoon session will feature No. 5 Illinois, No. 6 Ohio State, No. 7 Iowa and No. 8 Michigan State.

The 2013 Big Ten Championships are set for Saturday at Michigan State University’s Jenison Field House. The first session is slated for 1 p.m. ET, with the second session following at 6 p.m. The complete list of championships seedings, along with the All-Big Ten teams, can be found below.



Afternoon Session – 1:05 p.m. ET
5. Illinois
6. Ohio State
7. Iowa
8. Michigan State

Evening Session – 6:05 p.m. ET
1. Michigan
2. Nebraska
3. Minnesota
4. Penn State 

Alina Weinstein, ILL
Brittnee Martinez, MICH
Joanna Sampson, MICH
Sachi Sugiyama, MICH
Katie Zurales, MICH
Shannon Golich, MINN
Lindsay Mable, MINN
Kylie Schermann, MINN
Jessie DeZiel, NEB
Janelle Giblin, NEB
Jennifer Lauer, NEB
Emily Wong, NEB
Sarah Miller, OSU
Madison Merriam, PSU
Sharaya Musser, PSU

Sunny Kato, ILL
Giana O’Connor, ILL
Amber See, ILL
Natalie Beilstein, MICH
Shelby Gies, MICH
Taira Neal, MSU
Kayla Slechta, MINN
Brittany Skinner, NEB
Alyssa Marohn, OSU
Melanie Shaffer, OSU