Big Ten Announces 2014 Women's Gymnastics All-Conference Teams and Championships Schedule

March 18, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its women’s gymnastics All-Big Ten teams and Big Ten Championships schedule on Tuesday. The All-Conference teams are determined by regional qualifying scores, while the teams’ finish at the Big Ten quad meets last weekend determine which session each squad competes in at this weekend’s conference championships.

Twelve student-athletes earned first-team All-Big Ten honors. The All-Big Ten first team consists of Illinois’ Sunny Kato and Amber See, Michigan’s Natalie Beilstein, Joanna Sampson and Austin Sheppard, Michigan State’s Alina Cartwright, Minnesota’s Lindsay Mable, Nebraska’s Jessie DeZiel and Emily Wong, Ohio State’s Sarah Miller and Melanie Shaffer and Penn State’s Kassidy Stauder.

Thirteen gymnasts were named to the All-Big Ten second team. Collecting second-team All-Big Ten honors are Illinois’ Erin Buchanan and Giana O’Connor, Iowa’s Sydney Hoerr, Michigan’s Nicole Artz and Shelby Gies, Minnesota’s Madie Hanley, Hanna Nordquist, Kylie Schermann and Cierra Tomson, Nebraska’s Hollie Blanske, Ohio State’s Victoria Aepli and Penn State’s Sidney Sanabria-Robles and Krystal Welsh.

Based on the results of two Big Ten quad meets last weekend, teams were placed in one of two sessions for Saturday’s conference championships. Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State and Ohio State will compete in the afternoon session at Noon ET, while the evening session begins at 5 p.m. and will feature Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska and Penn State.

The 2014 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships will be held Saturday, March 22, at Rec Hall on the campus of Penn State in University Park, Pa. BTN will provide live coverage of both sessions.



The championships schedule and rotations, along with the All-Big Ten teams, can be found below.


Afternoon Session – Noon ET
Michigan – Vault
Iowa – Bars
Ohio State – Beam
Michigan State – Floor  

Evening Session – 5 p.m. ET
Illinois – Vault
Nebraska – Bars
Minnesota – Beam
Penn State – Floor


Sunny Kato, ILL
Amber See, ILL
Natalie Beilstein, MICH
Joanna Sampson, MICH
Austin Sheppard, MICH
Alina Cartwright, MSU
Lindsay Mable, MINN
Jessie DeZiel, NEB
Emily Wong, NEB
Sarah Miller, OSU
Melanie Shaffer, OSU
Kassidy Stauder, PSU


Erin Buchanan, ILL
Giana O’Connor, ILL
Sydney Hoerr, IOWA
Nicole Artz, MICH
Shelby Gies, MICH
Madie Hanley, MINN
Hanna Nordquist, MINN
Kylie Schermann, MINN
Cierra Tomson, MINN
Hollie Blanske, NEB
Victoria Aepli, OSU
Sidney Sanabria-Robles, PSU
Krystal Welsh, PSU