2016 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championship Preview

March 18, 2016


The 2016 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships will be held on Saturday at the Devaney Center on the University of Nebraska campus in Lincoln, Neb. All 10 conference squads will compete in one-of-two sessions, and the team with the highest score, regardless of the session, will win the Big Ten Championship.

Each team’s finish at last weekend’s Big Five meets determined the order of appearance at the conference championships. At Saturday’s championships, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland and Rutgers will compete in the morning session at 11:05 a.m. CT, while the evening session will feature Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State, beginning at 4:05 p.m.

Michigan earned last season’s Big Ten Championship, securing its 21st championship. The Wolverines’ Nicole Artz looks to defend her event crown in the all-around, uneven bars and balance beam. Lindsay Mable, who won last year’s vault title, returns to the fold for the Minnesota Golden Gophers, as does Michigan’s Talia Chiarelli, the defending floor exercise champion.

Five conference teams enter the Big Ten Championships ranked in the Road to Nationals Top 25 poll. Michigan leads the way at No. 7, followed by No. 12 Nebraska, No. 16 Minnesota, No. 18 Iowa and No. 25 Illinois.

Minnesota clinched the regular-season Big Ten title on Saturday after finishing the season with a 9-0 Big Ten record. The Gophers claimed their third regular-season title and first since 2014.