Michigan Wins Women’s Gymnastics Championship

March 19, 2016

Lincoln, Neb. - Michigan earned the 2016 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships title on Saturday, securing its 22nd overall and third consecutive title. The Wolverines tallied 197.125 points en route to the team title, followed by Nebraska in second place with 196.900. Minnesota finished in third with 196.575 points, Penn State placed fourth with 196.150 and Iowa and Ohio State rounded out the top five with 195.875 points each.


Minnesota's Lindsay Mable tied for first on the beam with Michigan’s Nicole Artz and Nebraska’s Grace Williams with a score of 9.925 en route to the all-around title with a score of 39.650. Nebraska’s Hollie Blanske won the vault title with a score 9.975. Michigan’s Brianna Brown and Penn State’s Kiera Brown shared the uneven parallel bars title with a score of 9.950, while Artz earned the floor exercise crown with a score of 9.975.


The conference's individual awards were also given out following the championships. Minnesota's Mable was named the Big Ten Gymnast of the Year for the second-straight season, marking the eighth honor in Golden Gopher history. Michigan's Olivia Karas was tabbed the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Minnesota head coach Jenny Hansen was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year.




Nineteen students were named to the All-Championships Team. Illinois' Bridget Hodan and Sunny Kato, Iowa’s Mollie Drenth and Angel Metcalf, Maryland’s Kathy Tang, Michigan’s Nicole Artz, Brianna Brown, and Olivia Karas, Michigan State’s Elena Lagoski and Hailee Westney, Minnesota’s Lindsay Mable, Nebraska’s Hollie Blanske, Danielle Breen, Sienna Crouse, Jennie Laeng, and Grace Williams, Ohio State’s Kaitlyn Hofland, Penn State’s Kiera Brown and Rutgers’ Riahanah Ali received recognition for their performances at the championships.


The conference's Sportsmanship Award honorees can be found below.


Big Ten Individual Awards

Gymnast of the Year: Lindsay Mable, Minnesota

Freshman of the Year: Olivia Karas, Michigan

Coach of the Year: Jenny Hansen, Minnesota


All-Championships Team

Bridget Hodan, Illinois

Sunny Kato, Illinois

Mollie Drenth, Iowa

Angel Metcalf, Iowa

Kathy Tang, Maryland

Nicole Artz, Michigan

Brianna Brown, Michigan

Olivia Karas, Michigan

Elena Lagoski, Michigan State

Hailee Westney, Michigan State

Lindsay Mable, Minnesota

Hollie Blanske, Nebraska

Danielle Breen, Nebraska

Sienna Crouse, Nebraska

Jennie Laeng, Nebraska

Grace Williams, Nebraska

Kaitlyn Hofland, Ohio State

Kiera Brown, Penn State

Riahanah Ali, Rutgers


Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Mary Jane Horth, Illinois

Melissa Zurawski, Iowa

Kathy Tang, Maryland

Lindsay Williams, Michigan

Brittany Holmes, Michigan State

Madeline Hanley, Minnesota

Danielle Breen, Nebraska

Rachel Abrams, Ohio State

Christina Postiglione, Penn State

Kathryn Stebick, Rutgers