2014 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships Release

March 20, 2014

Big Ten Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader


The 2014 Big Ten Women’s Gymnastics Championships will be held Saturday at Rec Hall on the Penn State campus in University Park, Pa. The eight conference teams will compete in one of two sessions, and the team with the highest score, regardless of the session, will win the Big Ten Championship.

The two sessions are based on the results of the Big Ten quad meets last weekend. Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State and Ohio State will compete in the afternoon session at Noon ET, while the evening session begins at 5 p.m. and will feature Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska and Penn State. Both sessions will be broadcast live on BTN.

Nebraska won its second consecutive Big Ten Championship last season, while Michigan holds the conference record with 19 team titles. Six gymnasts look to defend their event crowns from last year’s conference championships. Nebraska’s Emily Wong won the all-around, floor exercise and uneven bars and tied for first on the balance beam with teammate Jennifer Lauer, Minnesota’s Lindsay Mable and Ohio State’s Sarah Miller. Nebraska’s Hollie Blanske and Jessie DeZiel aim to win the title on the vault for the second straight year.

Six teams enter the Big Ten Championships ranked in the GymInfo Top 25 poll. Michigan leads the way at No. 8, followed by No. 9 Nebraska, No. 13 Illinois, No. 14 Penn State, No. 16 Minnesota and No. 24 Ohio State.

Minnesota and Nebraska clinched a share of the Big Ten regular season title after finishing with 6-1 conference records. The Golden Gophers and Cornhuskers both won their respective Big Ten quad meet.

Session 1: Noon ET (Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State and Ohio State)
Session 2: 5 p.m. (Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska and Penn State)

BTN will provide live coverage of session one (Noon ET) and session two (5 p.m.).

All media inquiries should be made through the Penn State University Athletic Communications Department.

Contact:               Greg Campbell
Email:                   gxc35@psu.edu
Phone:                  814-865-1759


This year, the Big Ten is celebrating 100 years of the Big Ten Medal of Honor. The conference’s most prestigious award, the Big Ten Medal of Honor was first awarded in 1915 to one student-athlete from the graduating class of each university who had “attained the greatest proficiency in athletics and scholastic work.” In the 99 years of the Medal of Honor, over 1,300 student-athletes have earned this distinction, including 17 women’s gymnastics student-athletes. Throughout the course of the season, the conference will highlight previous Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients, featuring some of the legends of the Big Ten who have earned this prominent achievement.