Women's Gymnastics - NCAA Regionals

March 20, 2017

NCAA WGYM Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

NCAA Regionals Rotation Order Get Acrobat Reader

 Women's gymnasts from all 10 Big Ten schools are set to compete in the NCAA Regional Championships on Saturday, April 1. Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State will represent the conference in team competition, while several gymnasts from Maryland, Michigan State and Rutgers will participate in various individual events.

Big Ten teams will appear in four regionals across the country. Michigan, the 2017 Big Ten champions and regular-season co-champions, will travel to the Morgantown Regional as the No. 7 seed. Host to the Lincoln Regional, regular-season co-champion Nebraska claimed the No. 14 seed and will compete alongside Minnesota. Illinois, the runner-up at last week’s championships, will host the Urbana-Champaign Regional and compete together with No. 17 Iowa and Ohio State. The final Big Ten team to earn a spot in the field is Penn State, who will travel to the Gainesville Regional. 

Last season, Minnesota and Nebraska earned team berths to the NCAA Championships, while four individuals advanced to compete in the all-around competition, including Iowa’s Mollie Drenth, Michigan’s Nicole Artz and Brianna Brown, and Michigan State’s Lisa Burt. Illinois’ Lizzy LeDuc, Michigan’s Talia Chiarelli and Penn State’s Briannah Tsang also qualified to compete at the NCAA Championships on floor.

The top two teams from each regional, along with the top two all-around competitors not on an advancing team, will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Championships, to be held April 14-15 at Chaifetz Arena in St. Louis, Mo. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships in their respective event if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

A complete list of regionals featuring Big Ten teams and individuals is below.

Morgantown Regional (Host: West Virginia) – 4 p.m. ET
Team - No. 7 Michigan
All-Around Competitor – Libby Groden, RU

Lincoln Regional (Host: Nebraska) – 5 p.m. ET
Team - No. 14 Nebraska and Minnesota

Urbana-Champaign Regional (Host: Illinois) – 5 p.m. ET
Team - No. 17 Iowa, Illinois and Ohio State
All-Around Competitor – Nicola Deans, MSU
Individual Event Specialists – Hailee Westney, MSU (UB); Elena Lagoski, MSU (FX); Kira Frederick, MSU (FX)

Gainesville Regional (Host: Florida) -- 4 p.m. ET
Team - Penn State
All-Around Competitor – Kirsten Peterman, MD
Individual Event Specialists – Sarah Faller, MD (BB, V); Alecia Farina, MD (FX, UB); Emily Brauckmuller, MD (FX)