Michigan Claims Third Consecutive Big Ten Championship

March 21, 2009


The No. 15-ranked University of Michigan women's gymnastics team earned its third straight Big Ten Championships team title, using a season-best 197.075 to edge No. 16 Illinois (196.750) and No. 13 Penn State (196.525) in the last rotation Saturday at Huff Hall. It is Michigan's 17th Big Ten title and marks the third time the Wolverines have won at least three consecutive crowns (1992-97, 1999-2005, 2007-09).

Penn State’s Brandi Personett captured the conference’s highest honor, as she was named Big Ten Gymnast of the Year while Ohio State’s Taylor Jones earned the nod as Freshman of the Year. Two mentors shared the yearly individual award, as Penn State’s Steve Shephard and Illinois’ Bob Starkell were honored as Big Ten Co-Coaches of the Year.

Full Story...

Big Ten Championship Central

Final Results