NCAA Women's Gymnastics Regional Qualifying Field Announced

March 21, 2011

Big Ten women's gymnastics will be well-represented at the 2011 NCAA Championships regionals as all seven conference teams have been selected to the field of 36. Each of the six regional sites will host six qualifying teams, five all-around competitors and one individual event specialist not on a qualifying team. All regional championships are scheduled for April 2.

After winning its fifth-straight and 19th overall Big Ten title, ninth-ranked Michigan will host the Ann Arbor Regional Championships as the No. 2 seed. The regional also features No. 16 Ohio State as the third seed and No. 23 Minnesota as the No. 5 seed. Fourth-ranked Stanford joins the regional as the top seed, along with sixth-seeded Kent State. The Ann Arbor Regional is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. ET.

Penn State and Illinois will travel to the Tuscaloosa Regional, with the 11th-ranked Nittany Lions holding the No. 2 seed and the 14th-ranked Illini entering as the No. 3 seed. Joining the pair of Big Ten squads are No. 1 seed and host Alabama, fourth-seeded Auburn, fifth-seeded Central Michigan and sixth-seeded Kentucky. The Tuscaloosa Regional is slated for 7 p.m. ET.

Iowa and Michigan State round out the group of conference teams qualifying for regional competition and will travel to the Corvallis Regional. The 15th-ranked GymHawks hold the No. 3 seed in the regional, while the Spartans enter the competition as the No. 6 seed. They will be joined by top-seeded host Oregon State, No. 2 seed Nebraska, No. 4 seed Southern Utah and No. 5 seed San Jose State. Competition at the Corvallis Regional is set for 7 p.m. ET.

The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors who are not on an advancing team from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in Cleveland on April 15-17. In addition, the event winners at each regional will advance to the national championships in that event only if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.