Big Ten Schools Set to Participate in NCAA Women’s Gymnastics Regional Championships

March 21, 2016

ROSEMONT, Ill. -- Women's gymnasts from all 10 Big Ten schools are set to compete in the NCAA Regional Championships on Saturday, April 2. Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State will represent the conference in team competition, while several gymnasts and alternates from Maryland and Rutgers will participate in various individual events.

Big Ten teams will appear in five regionals across the country. Host to the Ann Arbor Regional, Michigan claimed the No. 7 seed and will compete alongside Penn State and individual competitors from Rutgers.

In the Athens Regional is Michigan State and the individual competitors from Maryland. Iowa will host the Iowa City Regional where No.12 seed Nebraska will also compete. Fourteenth-seeded Minnesota will host the Minneapolis Regional where Ohio State will compete, while Illinois heads to the Salt Lake City Regional.

Last season, Michigan and Nebraska earned berths to the NCAA Championships. The top two teams from each regional, along with the top two all-around competitors not on an advancing team, will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Championships, to be held April 15-16 in Fort Worth, Texas. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships in their respective event if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

A complete list of regionals, teams, individuals and start times is below.



Ann Arbor Regional (Host: Michigan) -- 6 p.m. 
No. 7 Michigan

Penn State

Riahanah Ali, Michelle Amoresano, Elizabeth Groden, Makenzey Shank, Nicolette Wilson - Rutgers


Athens Regional (Host: Georgia) -- 4 p.m
Michigan State

Emily Brauckmuller, Abbie Epperson, Evelyn Nee, Kathy Tang, Dominiquea Trotter, Macey Roberts – Maryland


Iowa City Regional (Host: Iowa) -- 4 p.m. 

No. 12 Nebraska


Minneapolis Regional (Host: Minnesota) -- 4 p.m. 
No. 14 Minnesota

Ohio State


Salt Lake City Regional (Host: Utah) -- 6 p.m. 

All times ET.