Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships Set for Saturday

Nebraska holds the No. 1 seed entering the Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships.

March 22, 2012

Complete Release in PDF FormatGet Acrobat Reader | Big Ten Championships Central

The 2012 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships are set for Saturday at Carver-Hawkeye Arena on the Campus of the University of Iowa. The eight conference squads will split up into two sessions of four teams to compete for the Big Ten title.

The teams have been split into the two sessions based on their season-ending regional qualifying score (RQS). The evening session will feature the top four teams in the conference, while the afternoon session will showcase teams Nos. 5-8. The first session of the championships is set for 1:05 p.m. CT, with the second session following at 6:05 p.m. Both sessions will be broadcast live on BTN.

Nebraska earned the top seed entering its first Big Ten Championships, holding an RQS of 196.960, which ranks sixth nationally. The Huskers will be joined in the evening session by No. 2 Penn State (196.230), No. 3 Ohio State (196.115) and No. 4 Minnesota (195.880). The afternoon session will feature No. 5 Michigan (195.710), No. 6 Illinois (195.545), No. 7 Iowa (194.995) and No. 8 Michigan State (194.840).

Michigan has won the last five Big Ten Championships, holding the most in conference history with 19. Minnesota and Ohio State have each won five championships, while Illinois has won one. Three event champions from a season ago return for this year's event, as Illinois' Amber See and Penn State's Natalie Ettl and Sharaya Musser look to earn event crowns again in 2012. Musser took the all-around crown and shared the vault title with See, while Ettl won the parallel bars competition for the second consecutive season.