Michigan Wins Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships

March 22, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. - Michigan earned the 2014 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships title on Saturday, securing its 20th title and first since 2011. The Wolverines tallied 197.550 points en route to the team title, followed by Nebraska in second place with 196.950. Minnesota finished in third with 196.675 points, Illinois placed fourth with 196.625 and Penn State rounded out the top five with 196.475 points. 

Minnesota's Lindsay Mable won the vault with a score of 10.000 en route to the all-around title with a score of 39.650. Michigan's Joanna Sampson scored a 9.925 to win the bars title, while Nebraska's Emily Wong won the beam with a score of 9.950. Sampson and Wong posted matching scores of 10.000 on the floor exercise to share the title.

The conference's individual awards were also given out following the championships. Nebraska's Wong was named the Big Ten Gymnast of the Year, marking the first honor in Cornhusker history. Michigan's Nicole Artz was tabbed the Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while Minnesota head coach Meg Stephenson was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Twelve student-athletes were named to the All-Championships Team. Michigan's Nicole Artz, Natalie Beilstein, Joanna Sampson, Austin Sheppard and Sachi Sugiyama, Minnesota's Bailie Holst and Lindsay Mable, Nebraska's Hollie Blanske, Jessie DeZiel and Emily Wong, Ohio State's Melanie Shaffer and Penn State's Kassidy Stauder received recognition for their performances at the championships.

The conference's Sportsmanship Award honorees can be found below.

Big Ten Individual Awards
Big Ten Gymnast of the Year: Emily Wong, Nebraska
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Nicole Artz, Michigan
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Meg Stephenson, Minnesota

All-Championships Team
Nicole Artz, Michigan
Natalie Beilstein, Michigan
Joanna Sampson, Michigan
Austin Sheppard, Michigan
Sachi Sugiyama, Michigan
Bailie Holst, Minnesota
Lindsay Mable, Minnesota
Hollie Blanske, Nebraska
Jessie DeZiel, Nebraska
Emily Wong, Nebraska
Melanie Shaffer, Ohio State
Kassidy Stauder, Penn State



Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jordan Naleway, Illinois
Maryah Huntley, Iowa
Shelby Gies, Michigan
Brittany Holmes, Michigan State
Dusti Russell, Minnesota
Emily Wong, Nebraska
Sarah Grady, Ohio State
Lexi Carroll, Penn State