Big Ten Announces Women's Gymnastics All-Conference Teams

March 24, 2006

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten office announced the 2006 Women's Gymnastics All-Conference Teams tonight during the Big Ten Championships banquet. The women's gymnastics individual awards, including the Gymnast, Freshman and Coach of the Year, will be released following the Big Ten Championships to be held on Saturday, March 25, at the Jenison Fieldhouse on the campus of Michigan State University.

The 2006 All-Big Ten first team featured three-time All-Conference honorees in Jenny Deiley of Michigan and Laura Johnson of Minnesota. Illinois' Cara Pomeroy, Michigan's Lindsey Bruck and Penn State's Lisa Clark and Meredith Hoover were also repeat first-team picks as they were selected to the All-Conference first team last season.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Honorees for women's gymnastics are Illinois' Melissa Singer, Iowa's Liz Grajewski, Michigan's Nellie Kippley, Michigan State's Sarah Alexander, Minnesota's Maria Opsahl, Ohio State's Emily Sineway and Penn State's Stephanie Sullivan. These seven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

The complete list of the 2006 All-Big Ten Teams follow:

First Team
Cara Pomeroy, Illinois
Lindsey Bruck, Michigan
Jenny Deiley, Michigan
Tatjana Thuener-Rego, Michigan
Kristin Coleman, Michigan State
Laura Johnson, Minnesota
Maalika Moore-Thomas, Ohio State
Lisa Clark, Penn State
Meredith Hoover, Penn State
Jennifer Orlando, Penn State

Second Team
Julie Crall, Illinois
Liz Grajewski, Iowa
Becca Clauson, Michigan
Nellie Kippley, Michigan
Katie Lieberman, Michigan
Carol McNamara, Michigan
Lauren Mirkovich, Michigan
Victoria Iakounina, Michigan State
Brittany Brown, Ohio State
Aslynn Satterfield, Penn State