Big Ten Announces 2005 Women's Gymnastics All-Big Ten Teams

Park Ridge, IL - The Big Ten office announced the 2005 Women's Gymnastics All-Conference Teams tonight during the Big Ten Championships banquet, as Michigan's Elise Ray earned the rare distinction of becoming a four-time First Team All-League honoree. The women's gymnastics individual awards, including the Gymnast, Freshman and Coach of the Year, will be released following the Big Ten Championships to be held on Saturday, March 26, at the Carver-Hawkeye Arena on the campus of the University of Iowa.

Ray becomes the 10th Wolverine in school history to nab First Team accolades in four seasons, while also boosting the total number of four-time honorees to 19 overall in Big Ten annals since the award process began in 1984.

The 2005 All-Big Ten First Team featured four repeat honorees as Ray was joined by two-time First Team performers Jenny Deiley of Michigan, Laura Johnson of Minnesota and Elizabeth Meaney of Ohio State. Deiley nabbed her second First Team award after being selected in 2003, while Johnson and Meaney were also named to the All-Conference First Team last season. The complete 2005 All-Big Ten Teams follow:

First Team
Cara Pomeroy, Illinois
Lindsey Bruck, Michigan
Jenny Deiley, Michigan
Elise Ray, Michigan
Laura Johnson, Minnesota
Carolyn Yernberg. Minnesota
Elizabeth Meaney, Ohio State
Lisa Clark, Penn State
Meredith Hoover, Penn State
Kate Stopper, Penn State

Second Team
Kara Kapernekas, Illinois
Lauren Newcomb, Illinois
Liz Grajewski, Iowa
Becca Clauson, Michigan
Shanna Duggan, Michigan
Katie Lieberman, Michigan
Sarah Alexander, Michigan State
Chayla Hill, Michigan State
Karley Walek, Ohio State
Kristal Uzelac , Penn State