2010 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics All-Big Ten Teams Announced

March 26, 2010

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The 2010 Women's Gymnastics All-Big Ten Teams were announced at the annual Championships banquet Friday night. The first and second teams were selected by vote of the conference coaches.

Headlining the 2010 All-Conference nominees was Penn State senior Brandi Personett, who with her first-team selection Friday, became the second Nittany Lion to earn first-team honors four times. Additionally, three student-athletes earned first-team All-Big Ten distinction for the third time, as Michigan's Kylee Botterman and Sarah Curtis, and Michigan State's Nicole Curler earned the accolade. Rounding out the All-Big Ten first team were Illinois' Allison Buckley, Melissa Fernandez, and Sarah Schmidt, Iowa's Rebecca Simbhudas, Minnesota's Alexis Russell and Penn State's Sharaya Musser.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These seven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

Individual awards will be announced at the conclusion of the Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Champion-ships, on Saturday. The championships begin at 2 p.m. ET and will be televised live by the Big Ten Network.

The complete list of All-Big Ten and sportsmanship honorees can be found below.

Allison Buckley, ILL
Melissa Fernandez, ILL
Sarah Schmidt, ILL
Rebecca Simbhudas, IOWA
Kylee Botterman, MICH
Sarah Curtis, MICH
Nicole Curler, MSU
Alexis Russell, MINN
Sharaya Musser, PSU
Brandi Personett, PSU



Nicole Cowart, ILL
Houry Gebeshian, IOWA
Jessa Hansen, IOWA
Natalie Beilstein, MICH
Kelsey Knutson, MICH
Kelsey Morley, MSU
Rochelle Robinson, MSU
Rebecca Best, OSU
Hillary Dow, OSU
Natalie Ettl, PSU

2010 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Sportsmanship Honorees:
Illinois - Laura Woolf
Iowa -- Jessa Hansen
Michigan - Sarah Curtis
Michigan State - Rochelle Robinson
Minnesota -- Alexis Russell
Ohio State - Hillary Dow
Penn State - Natalie Ettl