Michigan Wins 2010 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championship

March 27, 2010

Complete Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The Michigan Wolverines won their fourth straight Big Ten Championship Saturday afternoon at the 2010 Big Ten Women's Gymnastics Championships. The win is Michigan's 17th in the last 19 years and the team never trailed throughout the meet. The Wolverines' scored a 49.450 on the balance beam, their final rotation, to seal the win.

Michigan finished with a 196.900 score, with Penn State finishing second with a 196.525 score. Iowa was third with 195.575 points, while Michigan State and Minnesota tied for fourth with 195.350 points. Illinois' 195.025 score was good for sixth and the host Buckeyes were seventh with 194.700.

A pair of Penn State gymnasts won major individual awards as senior Brandi Personett was named Big Ten Gymnast of the Year for the second straight year, while teammate Sharaya Musser was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Michigan's Bev Plocki and Illinois' Bob Starkell shared Big Ten Coach of the Year honors.

Final Team Results:
1. Michigan            196.900
2. Penn State         196.525
3. Iowa                  195.575
4. Michigan State    195.350
5. Minnesota          195.350
6. Illinois               195.025
7. Ohio State          194.700

Michigan Recap