All Eight Big Ten Schools Set to Participate in NCAA Regional Championships

April 3, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Women’s gymnasts from all eight Big Ten schools are set to compete in the NCAA Regional Championships on Saturday. Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State will represent the conference in team competition, while five gymnasts and one alternate from Iowa and three gymnasts and two alternates from Michigan State will participate in various individual events.

Big Ten teams will appear in five regionals across the country. In the Athens Regional, Michigan earned the No. 2 seed and Ohio State secured the No. 4 seed. Minnesota will host the Minneapolis Regional as the No. 3 seed, competing alongside second-seeded Illinois and Iowa’s individuals. Nebraska earned the No. 2 seed in the Seattle Regional, while Penn State will host the University Park Regional as the No. 3 seed. Michigan State student-athletes will travel to the Baton Rouge Regional.

Last season, Illinois, Michigan and Minnesota earned berths to the NCAA Championships, while a total of six individuals from Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State appeared in the national meet.

The top two teams from each regional, along with the top two all-around competitors not on an advancing team, will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Championships, to be held April 18-20 in Birmingham, Ala. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships in their respective event if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

A complete list of regionals, teams, individuals and start times is below.

Athens Regional (Host: Georgia) – 4 p.m.
No. 2 Michigan
No. 4 Ohio State 

Baton Rouge Regional (Host: LSU) – 5 p.m.
Lisa Burt, Alina Cartwright, Dani Levy, Elena Logoski, Alex Pace, MSU 

Minneapolis Regional (Host: Minnesota) – 7 p.m.
No. 2 Illinois
No. 3 Minnesota
Jordyn Doherty, Mollie Drenth, Alie Glover, Sydney Hoerr, Maryah Huntley, Angel Metcalf, IOWA 



Seattle Regional (Host: Washington) – 7 p.m.
No. 2 Nebraska 

University Park Regional (Host: Penn State) – 4 p.m.
No. 3 Penn State 

All times ET.