All Eight Big Ten Schools to Compete in NCAA Regional Championships

April 4, 2013

Park Ridge, Ill. -

Seven Big Ten women’s gymnastics teams take part in the NCAA Regional Championships on Saturday, as each team seeks a berth in the NCAA Championships later this month. Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Ohio State and Penn State will represent the conference in team competition, while three Michigan State gymnasts will compete in various individual events. All regionals will begin between 4 and 6 p.m. local time.

Big Ten teams will appear in four regionals across the country, with Michigan earning the top seed in the Morgantown Regional, while Nebraska and Illinois earned the No. 2 and No. 3 seeds, respectively. Minnesota will take part in the Gainesville Regional as a No. 2 seed, while Ohio State will host the Columbus Regional as a No. 4 seed. Third-seeded Penn State and fifth-seeded Iowa will compete in the Norman Regional. Michigan State will send three gymnasts to the Tuscaloosa Regional to compete in various individual events.

Last season, Nebraska and Ohio State each earned berths to the national championships, while six individuals advanced through to the NCAA finals.

The top two teams, along with the top two all-around competitors not on an advancing team, will receive automatic berths to the NCAA Championships at UCLA on April 19-21. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championship in that event only if they do not qualify as part of a team or as an all-around competitor.