NCAA Regional Championships Central

April 4, 2015

NCAA Release

Michigan and Nebraska Advance to NCAA Championships

The No. 6-ranked University of Michigan women's gymnastics team finished second (197.000) at the NCAA Columbus Regional on Saturday (April 4) inside St. John Arena, therein clinching a spot at the NCAA Championships, set for April 17-19 in Fort Worth, Texas. The Wolverines, who have scored at least 197.000 in the last six meets, have now qualified for the NCAA Championships in 21 of the last 24 seasons.

The No. 9 Nebraska women's gymnastics team clinched a spot to its 23rd NCAA Championships after finishing second at the Ames Regional with a 196.950. Senior Jessie DeZiel put together a seamless all-around performance of 39.425 to tie for second with Nina McGee of Denver. DeZiel also took home her third consecutive regional vault title with a 9.95. Freshman Grace Williams stayed steady in the all-around, earning the fourth place spot overall with a 39.350. Senior Desire' Stephens and junior Hollie Blanske tied for sixth place in the all-around with a 39.300, as Blanske also took a share of the floor title with a 9.925.

Michigan Release

Nebraska Release

Women's gymnasts from all 10 Big Ten schools are set to compete in the NCAA Regional Championships today beginning at 4 p.m. ET.

Big Ten teams will appear in five regionals across the country. In the Ames Regional, Nebraska claimed the No. 2 seed and Michigan State earned the No. 5 seed. Traveling to the Auburn Regional is third-seeded Minnesota, fourth-seeded Iowa and fifth-seeded Maryland. Sixth-seeded Ohio State will host the Columbus Regional, and will compete alongside No. 1 Michigan. Illinois earned the No. 3 seed in the Morgantown Regional, competing with Rutgers' individual participants. Penn State student-athletes will travel to the Norman Regional.



The top two teams from each regional, along with the top two all-around competitors not on an advancing team, will receive an automatic berth to the NCAA Championships, to be held April 17-19 in Fort Worth, Texas. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships in their respective event if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

A complete list of regionals, teams, individuals and start times is below.

Ames Regional (Host: Iowa State) -- 5 p.m.
No. 2 Nebraska
No. 5 Michigan State

Auburn Regional (Host: Auburn) -- 7 p.m.
No. 3 Minnesota
No. 4 Iowa
No. 5 Maryland

Columbus Regional (Host: Ohio State) -- 6 p.m.
No. 1 Michigan
No. 6 Ohio State

Morgantown Regional (Host: West Virginia) -- 4 p.m.
No. 3 Illinois
Elizabeth Groden, Claire Jones, Luisa Leal, Jenna Williams -- Rutgers
Norman Regional (Host: Oklahoma) -- 5 p.m.
No. 3 Penn State

All times ET.